Written by Winona Claire Sebastian

Ateneo de Davao University – Around 4pm today, the AdDU Commission on Elections (COMELEC) has unveiled the candidates for this year’s SAMAHAN Elections.

Indeed, the election season is on the roll again. Candidates, both independent and from political parties, have filed certificates of candidacy. The election serves as an avenue for the student body to select the next officers of the SAMAHAN Central Board (SCB) which is the student government of this university.

In its 31 years of untainted service, the Pinag-isang Lakas ng mga Progresibong Atenista ( PIGLASAPAT) – the oldest socio-political organization in the university – produces many Sui Generis leaders who serve the people with passion and principle. This year, the socio-political organization fields its 10-member slate consisting of 7 division representatives and 3 major officers for SAMAHAN Central Board Elections 2017.



The standard bearer is a 3rd year AB International Studies Major in Asian Studies student. She is the incumbent chairperson of PIGLASAPAT and the Campus Clubs Organization (CCO). As the Chairperson of CCO, she also serves as the ex-officio External Vice President of the SAMAHAN Central Board. She is also active in organizations and events outside Ateneo de Davao University. Currently, she is the National Chairperson of the Student Council Alliance of the Philippines (SCAP), which is the “largest formation of student councils, student governments, student political parties and organizations in the country representing more than 30 chapters and 150 campuses nationwide.” She is the first National Chairperson of SCAP to be hailed from Mindanao. She represented AdDU in Ayala Young Leaders Congress (AYLC) as a delegate. She became the Philippine Ambassador in the World Youth Alliance Asia Pacific Emerging Leaders Conference. Pinzon is also an alumna of the Ateneo Student Leaders Assembly (ASLA).

SORA THEA LEPASANA | Secretary-General

This 3rd year BS in Chemical Engineering student is the current Auditor of Junior Philippine Institute of Chemical Engineers (JPIChE), the academic club of Chemical Engineering students in the university. She became a member of SAMAHAN Communications Committee and a member of the Engineering and Architecture Student Executive Council (EASEC) Production Team.


The current Chief of Staff of the Office of the Treasurer of SAMAHAN Central Board is Dotie Ibag, a 4th year Accountancy Student. She is the current Welfare Head of Accountancy Student Executive Council (ASEC). In her 1st year, she was in the finance officer of First Year Accountancy Student Executive Council (FYASEC). She is a member of Junior Philippine Institute of Accountants (JPIA) since 1st year and has been active since then. She became 3rd Year Batch Representative and Production Technical Head in 2014-2015.


RAUL DIEGO BORROMEO | Business and Management (B&M)

He is the Creative Team Head for 3 years of the Business and Management Student Executive Council. Aside from being active in his SEC, the 3rd year Marketing student has the highest QPI in Marketing in his 1st and 2nd year. He was awarded the Most Outstanding Marketing Student and Most Outstanding B&M student in his 2nd year.

REMIELOU FERNIZ | Engineering and Architecture (EA)

She is a 4th year BS in Architecture student aspiring to be the next EA representative. It has been a long time since an Architecture student has held the position. She is Ateneo Architecture Guild (DORIC) President and the EASEC DORIC representative. Being DORIC’s President, she is also included in CCO’s roster of club presidents.

RYAN DEXTER HOFELEÑA | Natural Sciences and Mathematics (NSM)

He is now in his 2nd year in the BS Biology program of NSM. He has been the Class President for two years. He had won the Mr. Alliance of Davao Biology Majors (ADBM) in his 1st year.


Pal Palileo, a 3rd year Computer Science student, is the current Philippine Society of Information Technology Students (PSITS) Region XI representative and the acting President of PSITS Region XI Student Officers. He is the Vice President of Ciphers. He is also a Hardcopy writer and a Senior member of Echoes.

JERRY LOUISE HUERBANA | Humanities and Letters (HumLet)

The current HumLetSEstudent.ear Batch Representative is also the Logistics Head of Mag-aaral ng Sining at Komunikasyon (SINIKOM). He was recognized as the Most Outstanding 1st Year Class President last year. He is a member of HumLet Wolf Pack and Communications Majors Alliance of Davao.


Thea Factor is a 4th year Accountancy student and is the current 4th Year Batch Representative. In her 1st year, she was the Talents head. She is a consistent Dean’s Lister who is a member of JPIA and JAGUARS since 1st year.

GEENA MARIE CAJETA | Social Sciences (SS)

She is currently the 2nd Year Batch Representative of SSSEC and a 2nd year AB Psychology student. She is the SS representative for Magna Carts Working Group and SS Cluster Head of PIGLASAPAT. She was a delegate to both Philippine Good Governance Summit 2016 and ASLA.

The campaign period starts at January 9. Presidential debates will commence on the 16th at Arrupe Hall. Miting de Avance will be on the 20th which also will be the mock election day. The elections will be held on January 25-27 with the 27th being the day of proclamation.